Murray named Movement Disorders Neurology division chief

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – Ann Murray, M.D., has been named Movement Disorders division chief in the Rockefeller Neuroscience Institute (RNI) Department of Neurology at West Virginia University.

Dr. Murray joined the WVU Department of Neurology faculty in 2016, currently serving as associate professor and student clerkship director and taking an active role in the growth of the Comprehensive Movement Disorders program.

Ann Murray, M.D., Rockefeller Neuroscience Institute Movement Disorders Neurology division chief
Ann Murray, M.D., Rockefeller Neuroscience Institute Movement Disorders Neurology division chief

“Since starting, Dr. Murray has been an integral member of the movement team, working alongside other neurologists, neurosurgeons, and others,” said David Watson, M.D., chair of the Department of Neurology. “She has helped to oversee the growth of the neurology movement division to four neurologists and two advanced practice providers.

“Under her leadership, the Comprehensive Movement Disorder Clinic has expanded treatment options for people in West Virginia to offer access to all of the latest advancements, including deep brain stimulation and focused ultrasound, as well as providing excellence in routine medical therapies. Dr. Murray is commonly sought after by patients from all over the country who have struggled to find the right diagnosis or right treatments.”

Murray’s innovative research uses drug therapies and neuromodulation to treat a variety of movement disorders, including Parkinson’s disease, essential tremor, and Tourette’s syndrome. The RNI team was the first in the region to employ the use of focused ultrasound for the treatment of essential tremor. The team treated their 100th patient earlier this year, marking a pivotal milestone for the division.

Along with these clinical and academic roles, Murray serves on several national and state committees, and was recently elected to the West Virginia State Medical Association Board of Trustees and was named to the WVU School of Medicine Dean’s Executive Council.

For more information on the Rockefeller Neuroscience Institute, visit