Led by Alison Wilson MD, FACS, along with some of the most respected critical care and trauma surgeons, the WVU Critical Care and Trauma Institute has become a leading provider of comprehensive tertiary and quaternary critical care to critically ill and injured patients throughout West Virginia and the Appalachian region.

Alison Wilson MD, FACS

Executive Director, WVU Critical Care and Trauma Institute

Professor and Chief of Division of Trauma, Emergency Surgery & Surgical Critical Care

Skewes Family Chair for Trauma Surgery, J.W. Ruby Memorial Hospital

Gregory Schaefer, DO

Medical Director, Surgical Intensive Care Unit (SICU)

Sunil Sharma, MD

Medical Director, Medical Intensive Care Unit (MICU)

Matthew Smith, MD, MS

Medical Director, Neurological Critical Care Unit (NCCU)

Paul McCarthy, MD

Medical Director, Cardiovascular Intensive Care Unit (CVICU)

Paul McCarthy, MD

Daniel Grabo, MD, FACS

Medical Director, Trauma Department

Kathrin Allen, MD

Medical Director, Critical Care Management