Senior Executive Leadership


Albert L. Wright, Jr.

President and CEO
West Virginia University Health System
West Virginia University Hospitals

Mr. Wright is the president and CEO of the West Virginia University Health System, West Virginia’s largest employer and the state’s leading provider of advanced specialty care.

Having previously served in several senior-level positions at UPMC in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and Ohio Health in Columbus, Ohio, Mr. Wright came to the health system in 2014 to serve as president and CEO of West Virginia University Hospitals, the health system’s 690-bed flagship and the state’s leading academic medical center. He then became the health system’s chief operating officer while continuing to serve as the hospital CEO. In August 2016 – two years after his arrival – he was named the health system’s chief executive.

Mr. Wright obtained his B.S. degree in pharmacy at the University of Toledo, a Master of Health Administration at The Ohio State University, and his Doctor of Pharmacy at the University of Florida. He is involved in several charitable and civic organizations, serves on several boards, and is a soccer coach on the weekends. He and his wife, Joy, have four children.


Clay Marsh, MD

Vice President and Executive Dean
West Virginia University Health Sciences Center

Clay Marsh, MD, leads the academic health sciences center of West Virginia University – including five schools – dentistry, medicine, nursing, pharmacy, and public health – and numerous allied health programs and clinical operations around the state.

A national leader in personalized medicine and in pulmonary and critical care medicine, Dr. Marsh has concentrated his efforts in determining how to help individuals stay healthy and how to create ecosystems to make this easy.

Dr. Marsh is a two-time graduate of West Virginia University, earning an undergraduate degree in biology in 1981 and a medical degree in 1985.

From 1985 to 2015, he was at The Ohio State University. He served a residency in internal medicine; a research fellowship in pulmonary and critical care; a chief residency in internal medicine; a fellowship in pulmonary and critical care medicine; and an extension research fellowship in pulmonary and critical care. As a faculty member, he held a wide range of teaching, clinical, research, and administrative roles at Ohio State’s Wexner Medical Center, including as vice dean for research and vice dean for innovation in the College of Medicine.


Judie Charlton, MD

Chief Medical Officer
West Virginia University Health System
West Virginia University Hospitals

Judie Charlton, MD, who began serving as Chief Medical Officer in 2011, is WVU Medicine’s primary physician executive and is responsible for the organization’s clinical services. She also serves as vice dean for clinical affairs in the WVU School of Medicine and chief executive of University Health Associates, the physician practice plan.

Dr. Charlton is a 1981 graduate of the WVU School of Pharmacy and a 1985 graduate of the WVU School of Medicine. She completed post-graduate training at Mercy Hospital and WVU. She joined the faculty of the WVU Department of Ophthalmology in 1989 and served as chair from 2008-2011.

Hospital Presidents


Mike Tillman

President and CEO, United Hospital Center

Steve Altmiller

President and CEO, Camden Clark Medical Center

Samantha Richards

Interim President and CEO, Berkeley and Jefferson Medical Centers

Ivar “Skip” Gjolberg

Administrator, St. Joseph’s Hospital

David Hess, MD

President and CEO, Reynolds Memorial Hospital
President and CEO, Wetzel County Hospital

Mark G. Boucot

President and CEO, Potomac Valley Hospital
President and CEO, Garrett Regional Medical Center (Managed Hospital)

Karen Bowling

Vice President of Care Delivery and Transformation
President and CEO, Braxton County Memorial Hospital
President and CEO, Summersville Regional Medical Center

Stephanie McCoy

President and CEO, Jackson General Hospital
Douglas Harrison

Douglas Harrison

President and CEO, Wheeling Hospital (Managed Hospital)
Victoria Jones

Victoria Jones

President and CEO, Highland-Clarksburg Hospital (Managed Hospital)

David Phillips

President and CEO, Barnesville Hospital (Managed Hospital)

Institute and Regional Campus Leadership


Vinay Badhwar, MD

Executive Chair, WVU Heart and Vascular Institute
Hannah W. Hazard-Jenkins, MD, FACS, Interim Director WVU Cancer Institute

Hannah W. Hazard-Jenkins, MD, FACS

Interim Director, WVU Cancer Institute

John C. Linton, PhD

Associate Vice President and Dean, School of Medicine-Charleston
Thomas F Mauger , MD Professor and Chairman, Jane McDermott Shott Chair, Associate Dean for Practice Plan Integration

Thomas Mauger, MD

Chair, WVU Eye Institute

Emma Morton-Eggleston, MD, MPH

Associate Vice President and Dean, School of Medicine-Eastern Division


Ali Rezai, MD

Executive Chair and Vice President, WVU Rockefeller Neuroscience Institute

Alison Wilson, MD

Executive Chair, WVU Trauma and Critical Care Institute

Executive Leadership

Jessica Alsop

Jessica Alsop

Vice President and General Counsel

Frank Briggs, PharmD, MPH, FASHP, FACHE

Vice President, WVU Heart and Vascular Institute

Amy (Bush) Marone, RN, BSN, MBA, CNOR

Vice President of Clinical Operations
Chief Operating Officer, WVU Medicine Children’s
(Cerimele) Kaminsky

Leeann (Cerimele) Kaminsky

Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer

Doug Coffman

Senior Vice President of Finance and Chief Financial Officer

Anthony Condia

Vice President and Chief Marketing and Communications Officer

Melanie Davies

Vice President and Chief Compliance Officer
Richard Funnell

Richard Funnell

Vice President, Cancer Services

Benjamin Gerber

Vice President, Payor Strategy and Contracting

Kevin Halbritter, MD

Vice President of Population Health
Stephen Hoffmann, MD

Stephen Hoffmann, MD

Vice President of Clinical Integration
Todd Karpinski, PharmD

Todd Karpinski, PharmD

Chief Pharmacy Officer
Melissa McCoy

Melissa McCoy

Vice President of Finance
Bob O’Neil

Bob O’Neil

Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Services Officer

David Rich, MD, CPE

Chief Medical Information Officer

Darin Rogers

Vice President of Provider and Network Services

Jim Venturella

Vice President and Chief Information Officer