Senior Executive Leadership


Albert L. Wright Jr., PharmD, MHA

President and CEO
West Virginia University Health System
West Virginia University Hospitals

Albert L. Wright Jr. is the president and chief executive officer (CEO) of West Virginia University Health System, West Virginia University’s network of doctors, hospitals, and clinics. He is also the president and CEO of West Virginia University Hospitals, the health system’s flagship.

Wright joined the health system in August of 2014 to lead its academic medical center. He was later appointed the health system’s chief operating officer, and became its president and CEO in September 2016. He previously spent five years as vice president of operations at UPMC Presbyterian Shadyside Hospital in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and also served as vice president of operations at Ohio Health, Dublin Methodist Hospital.

Wright obtained his Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy at the University of Toledo, his Master of Health Administration at Ohio State University, and his Doctor of Pharmacy at the University of Florida.  He and his wife, Joy, have four children.


Clay Marsh, MD

Vice President and Executive Dean
West Virginia University Health Sciences Center

Clay Marsh, MD, leads the academic health sciences center of West Virginia University – including five schools – dentistry, medicine, nursing, pharmacy, and public health – and numerous allied health programs and clinical operations around the state.

A national leader in personalized medicine and in pulmonary and critical care medicine, Dr. Marsh has concentrated his efforts in determining how to help individuals stay healthy and how to create ecosystems to make this easy.

Marsh is a two-time graduate of West Virginia University, earning an undergraduate degree in biology in 1981 and a medical degree in 1985.

From 1985 to 2015, he was at The Ohio State University. He served a residency in internal medicine; a research fellowship in pulmonary and critical care, a chief residency in internal medicine; a fellowship in pulmonary and critical care medicine; and an extension research fellowship in pulmonary and critical care. As a faculty member, he held a wide range of teaching, clinical, research, and administrative roles at Ohio State’s Wexner Medical Center, including as vice dean for research and, most recently, vice dean for innovation in the College of Medicine.


Judie Charlton, MD

Chief Medical Officer
West Virginia University Health System
West Virginia University Hospitals

Judie Charlton, MD, who began serving as Chief Medical Officer in 2011, is WVU Medicine’s primary physician executive and is responsible for the organization’s clinical services. She also serves as vice dean for clinical affairs in the WVU School of Medicine and chief executive of University Health Associates, the physician practice plan.

Dr. Charlton is a 1981 graduate of the WVU School of Pharmacy and a 1985 graduate of the WVU School of Medicine. She completed post-graduate training at Mercy Hospital and WVU. She joined the faculty of the WVU Department of Ophthalmology in 1989 and served as chair from 2008-2011.

Hospital Presidents


Mike Tillman

President and CEO, United Hospital Center

David McClure

President and CEO, Camden Clark Medical Center

Anthony P. Zelenka

President and CEO, Berkeley and Jefferson Medical Centers

Ivar “Skip” Gjolberg

Administrator, St. Joseph’s Hospital of Buckhannon

David Hess, MD

President and CEO, Reynolds Memorial Hospital

Linda Shroyer

President and CEO, Potomac Valley Hospital

Affiliate Hospital Presidents


Mark G. Boucot

President and CEO, Garrett Regional Medical Center (affiliate)

Brian Felici

CEO, Wetzel County Hospital (affiliate)

Institute and Regional Campus Leadership


Vinay Badhwar, MD

Executive Chair, WVU Heart and Vascular Institute

John C. Linton, PhD

Associate Vice President and Dean, School of Medicine-Charleston

Konrad C. Nau, MD

Associate Vice President and Dean, School of Medicine-Eastern Division

William P. Petros, PharmD

Interim Director, WVU Cancer Institute

Phil Saul, MD

Executive Vice President, WVU Medicine Children’s

Alison Wilson, MD

Executive Chair, WVU Trauma and Critical Care Institute

Executive Leadership


Frank Briggs, PharmD, MHA

Vice President and Chief Quality Officer

Amy Bush, RN, BSN

Vice President of Operations and Cardiovascular Services

Leeann Cerimele

Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer

Doug Coffman

Senior Vice President of Finance and Chief Financial Officer

Anthony Condia

Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer

Melanie Davies

Vice President and Chief Compliance Officer

Niesha L. Griffith

Vice President of Cancer Services

Kevin Halbritter, MD

Vice President and Chief Medical Information Officer

Doug Harrison

Vice President for Healthcare Integration
Melissa McCoy

Melissa McCoy

Vice President of Finance
Leslie Miele

Leslie Miele

Vice President for Strategic Planning and Implementation
Bob O’Neil

Bob O’Neil

Senior Vice President and General Counsel

Jim Venturella

Vice President and Chief Information Officer