Department of Medicine names new chair

Lerfald named to position

The WVU School of Medicine has named Nathan “Nate” Lerfald, M.D., as the Department of Medicine chair.

Dr. Lerfald assumes the position after serving as the vice chair for education and the associate chief quality officer since 2017. He currently holds the Anthony G. DiBartolomeo Professorship in Medicine.

Lerfald is board certified in internal medicine. He earned his medical degree in 1997, and in 2000, he completed his residency in internal medicine, both at WVU. He also holds a bachelor’s degree in biology from Wake Forest University.

A native of Charleston, West Virginia, Lerfald is eager to lead a program focused on providing quality education and healthcare to West Virginians.

“The WVU Department of Medicine is leading the way for primary care, hospital and intensive care and subspecialty care, not only in Morgantown but throughout the region,” Dr. Lerfald said. “With a focus on compassionately delivering quality healthcare through innovation, the department will continue improving the health and wellbeing of the people of West Virginia and bordering states. I am excited to lead this department and serve the state that I have called home for most of my life.”

Lerfald serves on various committees through the institution and hospital system, including the University Health Associates Board of Directors and the WVU Medicine COVID Response Incident Command.

“Nate’s leadership, commitment to excellence, and focus on high-quality medicine, real-world research, education and mentorship make him a perfect leader for the Department of Medicine,” Clay Marsh, M.D., chancellor and executive dean for WVU Health Sciences, said.

Lerfald says he hopes to put his institutional knowledge to work in helping lead the 'department into its next phase of growth.

Lerfald resides in Morgantown with his wife, Charmin, a former teacher at University High School. The couple raised their three children, Erika, Kathryn and Andrew, in Morgantown.

Lerfald assumes the role vacated by Arif Sarwari, M.D., who was named the School’s associate dean for clinical affairs. Steve Hoffmann, M.D., has served as interim chair since July 1, 2022.

For more information on the Department of Medicine, visit