1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Gregory Konat, PhD/LM, MS – Professor

304.293.0594

PO Box 9128
4016 HSC-N
Morgantown, WV 26506


Affiliations

Biochemistry; Rockefeller Neuroscience Institute

Graduate Training

University of Southern Denmark, Biochemistry

Professor

My research interests are primarily focused on the immune-to-brain communication. In particular, the research objective of my laboratory is to elucidate mechanisms by which inflammatory episodes in the periphery alter brain function.

Research Topics

The immune system and the brain maintain intricate communication that plays an important role in both health and disease. For example, epidemiological evidence indicates that peripheral viral infections are comorbid factors in seizures. The putative mechanisms entail pathways by which inflammatory signals are relayed to the brain and lower seizure threshold. However, these pathways have not been
defined. We have developed a preclinical murine model in which the peritoneal injection of a viral mimetic, polyinosinic-polycytidylic acid (PIC) robustly increases susceptibility to kainic acid (KA)-induced seizures. Subsequent studies have indicated that the principal mechanism entails dysregulation of glutamate homeostasis in hippocampal astrocytes and that this dysregulation is mediated by the activation of endogenous complement pathways.


Lab Personnel

Tiffany Petrisko

Graduate Student

304.293.6621

tjpetrisko@mix.wvu.edu

Brent Lally

Research Assistant

304.293.1209

blally@hsc.wvu.edu

 

Collaborators

Ariel Agmon, PhD

WVU Department of Neurobiology

304.293.0602

aagmon@hsc.wvu.edu

Miranda Reed, PhD

Drug Discovery and Development

Auburn University

334.844.7401

reedmir@auburn.edu

Bernard Schreurs, PhD

WVU Department of Physiology

304.293.0497

bschreurs@hsc.wvu.edu

James Simpkins, PhD

WVU Department of Physiology & Pharmacology

jwsimpkins@hsc.wvu.edu

James P. O’Callaghan, PhD

Toxicology & Molecular Biology Branch, CDC/NIOSH

304.285.6079

jdo5@cdc.gov

Diane B. Miller, PhD

Toxicology & Molecular Biology Branch, CDC/NIOSH

304.285.6079

dum6@cdc.gov

Halina Offner, Dr. MED

Department of Neurology

Oregon Health and Science University, Portland

503.721.7893

offnerva@ohsu.edu

Adrienne Salm, PhD

WVU Department of Neurobiology

304.293.2435

asalm@hsc.wvu.edu

Arthur Vandenbark, PhD

Department of Molecular Microbiology & Immunology

Oregon Health and Science University

503.273.5113

vandenba@ohsu.edu

Hanting Zhang, MD, PhD

WVU Department of Behavioral Medicine & Psychiatry

304.293.5850

hzhang@hsc.wvu.edu


Recent Publications

[2017]

[2016]

[2015]

[2014]

[2013]

[2011]

More publications

WVU Rockefeller Neuroscience Institute